Open Agenda



Council Tax Setting Committee

Thursday 24 February 2011 5.00 pm Ground Floor Meeting Room G02C - 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2TZ

Membership

Reserves

Councillor Peter John (Chair) Councillor Richard Livingstone (Vice-Chair) Councillor Fiona Colley Councillor Tim McNally Councillor Michael Mitchell Councillor Graham Neale Councillor Althea Smith Councillor Toby Eckersley Councillor Barrie Hargrove Councillor Jeff Hook Councillor Veronica Ward Councillor Ian Wingfield

INFORMATION FOR MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

Access to information

You have the right to request to inspect copies of minutes and reports on this agenda as well as the background documents used in the preparation of these reports.

Babysitting/Carers allowances

If you are a resident of the borough and have paid someone to look after your children, an elderly dependant or a dependant with disabilities so that you could attend this meeting, you may claim an allowance from the council. Please collect a claim form at the meeting.

Access

The council is committed to making its meetings accessible. Further details on building access, translation, provision of signers etc for this meeting are on the council's web site: <u>www.southwark.gov.uk</u> or please contact the person below.

Contact

Ian Millichap on 020 7525 7225 or email: ian.millichap@southwark.gov.uk Webpage: www.southwark.gov.uk

Members of the committee are summoned to attend this meeting.

Annie Shepperd

Chief Executive Date: 23 February 2011



Southwark

Council Tax Setting Committee

Thursday 24 February 2011 5.00 pm Ground Floor Meeting Room G02C - 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2TZ

Order of Business

Item No.

Title

Page No.

PART A: OPEN BUSINESS

1. APOLOGIES

To receive any apologies for absence.

2. MEMBERSHIP AND TERMS OF REFERENCE

1

To note the membership set out on the summons and the terms of reference in Appendix A.

3. CONFIRMATION OF VOTING MEMBERS

A representative of each political group will confirm the voting members of the committee.

4. NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS THE CHAIR DEEMS URGENT

In special circumstances, an item of business may be added to an agenda within five clear days of the meeting.

5. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS

Members to declare any personal interests and dispensation in respect of any item of business to be considered at this meeting.

6. SETTING THE COUNCIL TAX 2011/12

Report to follow.

ANY OTHER OPEN BUSINESS AS NOTIFIED AT THE START OF THE MEETING AND ACCEPTED BY THE CHAIR AS URGENT

EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

The following motion should be moved, seconded and approved if the sub-committee wishes to exclude the press and public to deal with reports revealing exempt information:

"That the public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraphs 1-7, Access to Information Procedure rules of the Constitution."

PART B: CLOSED BUSINESS

ANY OTHER CLOSED BUSINESS AS NOTIFIED AT THE START OF THE MEETING AND ACCEPTED BY THE CHAIR AS URGENT

Date: 23 February 2011

COUNCIL TAX SETTING COMMITTEE

1

Role and functions

This committee is established under section 67 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992 with the following role and functions:

- 1. To note the annual budget 2011/12 for Southwark services agreed by council assembly.
- 2. To note the Greater London Authority precept level.
- 3. To set an amount of council tax for the financial year 2011/12.
- 4. To agree the formal resolution for council taxes in 2011/12

Matters reserved for decision

The matters reserved for decision to this committee are as set out in the roles and functions.

Notes:

- 1. The term of office for the committee is fixed at no later than 31 March 2011.
- 2. This committee was established by council assembly on 22 February 2011 with a membership of seven councillors. The composition of the committee is:
 - Labour 4 places;
 - Liberal Democrat 2 places; and
 - Conservative 1 place.

Each political group is entitled to nominate a number of reserve/substitute members in accordance with council assembly procedure rule 4.5(1).

OPEN MUNICIPAL YEAR 2010-2011 COMMITTEE: COUNCIL TAX SETTING COMMITTEE NOTE: Original held in Constitutional Team; all amendments/queries to Ian Millichap, Constitutional Team Manager, Tel: 020 7525 7225.	
COPIES	
Councillor Richard Livingstone (Vice Chair) Councillor Fiona Colley Councillor Tim McNally Councillor Michael Mitchell Councillor Graham Neale	OTHERS Local studies library 1
Councillor Barrie Hargrove Councillor Jeff Hook Councillor Veronica Ward	
Doreen Forrester-Brown	1 1 1 0
COMMUNICATIONS Robin Campbell	1
Jennifer Seeley	1
	Total Print Run: 30
	List Updated: 23 February 2011